Merkliste
Die Merkliste ist leer.

History & Politics

Unorthodox

Unorthodox

The Scandalous Rejection of My Hasidic Roots
Verkaufsrang1inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
The instant bestselling memoir of a young Jewish woman's escape from a religious sect, in the tradition of Ayaan Hirsi Ali's Infidel and Carolyn Jessop's Escape, featuring a new epilogue by the author.
As a member of the strictly religious Satmar sect of Hasidic Judaism, Deborah Feldman ...
CHF12.25
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Outrage

Outrage

Verkaufsrang2inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
'Arnaldur Indridason's new novel is further evidence that he's one of the most brilliant crime writers of his generation' Sunday Times
Reykjavik, Saturday night
He offered her another margarita, and, as he returned from the bar, he carefully slid the pill into her glass. They were getting along fine,...
CHF9.00
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Fire and Fury

Fire and Fury

Verkaufsrang1inPolitics (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
SUNDAY TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER
NEW YORK TIMES NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER
With extraordinary access to the Trump White House, Michael Wolff tells the inside story of the most controversial presidency of our time.
The first nine months of Donald Trump's term were stormy, outrageous - and absolutely mesmerising. Now,...
CHF7.50
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves

Rational Optimist: How Prosperity Evolves

Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
Shortlisted for the BBC Samuel Johnson Prize for Non-fiction 2011.
Life is on the up.
CHF11.20
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
The Churchills

The Churchills

A Family at the Heart of History - from the Duke of Marlborough to Winston Churchill
Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
There never was a Churchill from John of Marlborough down who had either morals or principles', so said Gladstone. From the First Duke of Marlborough - soldier of genius, restless empire-builder and cuckolder of Charles II - onwards, the Churchills have been politicians, gamblers and profligates, heroes and womanisers....
CHF5.00
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
From the Ruins of Empire

From the Ruins of Empire

The Revolt Against the West and the Remaking of Asia
Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
From Pankaj Mishra, author the successful Temptations of the West and Butter Chicken in Ludhiana, comes a provocative account of how China, India and the Muslim World are remaking the world in their own image.
SHORTLISTED FOR THE ORWELL PRIZE 2013
The Victorian period, viewed in the West as a time of self-confident progress,...
CHF10.00
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Clementine

Clementine

The Life of Mrs. Winston Churchill
Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
"Engrossing…the first formal biography of a woman who has heretofore been relegated to the sidelines."-The New York TimesA long overdue tribute to the extraordinary woman who was Winston Churchill's closest confidante, fiercest critic and shrewdest advisor that captures the intimate dynamic of one of history's most fateful marriages,...
CHF21.90
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Age of Anger

Age of Anger

A History of the Present
Verkaufsrang2inPolitics (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
How can we explain the origins of the great wave of paranoid hatreds that seem inescapable in our close-knit world - from American 'shooters' and ISIS to Trump, from a rise in vengeful nationalism across the world to racism and misogyny on social media? In Age of Anger, Pankaj Mishra answers ...
CHF19.35
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
A Long Way Gone

A Long Way Gone

Memoirs of a Boy Soldier
Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
My new friends have begun to suspect I haven?t told them the full story of my life.?Why did you leave Sierra Leone???Because there is a war.??You mean, you saw people running around with guns and shooting each other???Yes, all the time.??Cool.?I smile a little.?You should tell us about it sometime.??Yes, sometime.?...
CHF16.10
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
The Collected Works of James Willard Schultz

The Collected Works of James Willard Schultz

In the Great Apache Forest, With the Indians in the Rockies, Rising Wolf the White Blackfoot, Sinopah the Indian Boy, The War-Trail Fort, My Life as an Indian
Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBWasserzeichenElectronic Book
James Willard Schultz, or Apikuni, (1859-1947) was a noted author, explorer, Glacier National Park guide, fur trader and historian of the Blackfeet Indians. He operated a fur trading post at Carroll, Montana and lived among the Pikuni tribe during the period 1880-82. He was given the name Apikuni by the Pikuni chief,...
CHF1.30
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
21 Lessons for the 21st Century

21 Lessons for the 21st Century

Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
**THE NUMBER ONE BESTSELLER**
Sapiens showed us where we came from. Homo Deus looked to the future. 21 Lessons for the 21st Century explores the present.
How can we protect ourselves from nuclear war, ecological cataclysms and technological disruptions? What can we do about the epidemic of fake news or the threat of terrorism?...
CHF14.00
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Stalin's Constitution: Soviet Participatory Politics and the Discussion of the 1936 Draft Constitution

Stalin's Constitution: Soviet Participatory Politics and the Discussion of the 1936 Draft Constitution

Verkaufsrang3inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
Upon its adoption in December 1936, Soviet leaders hailed the new so-called Stalin Constitution as the most democratic in the world. Scholars have long scoffed at this claim, noting that the mass repression of 1937-1938 that followed rendered it a hollow document. This study does not address these competing claims,...
CHF58.05
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Dambusters

Dambusters

A Landmark Oral History
Verkaufsrang11inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
Praise for Forgotten Voices of the Great War:
'A stunning book' The Times
'A remarkable and valuable documentary' Telegraph
'An extraordinary and immensely moving book' Stephen Fry
CHF10.95
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
Supergods

Supergods

Our World in the Age of the Superhero
Verkaufsrang11inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
In 1938 Action Comics #1 introduced the world to Superman. In a matter of years, the skies of our imaginations were filled with mutants, aliens and vigilantes. Batman, Wonder Woman and the X-Men - in less than a century they've gone from not existing at all to being everywhere we look. But why? For Grant Morrison,...
CHF12.90
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb
The Cage

The Cage

The fight for Sri Lanka & the Last Days of the Tamil Tigers
Verkaufsrang11inHistory (eBook)
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
* Once known for its exquisite tea, drowsy climate, and amiable people, Sri Lanka was the Indian Ocean jewel of the British Empire. After Independence, the island enjoyed a liberal parliamentary democracy with a lively independent press and a booming economy. It had a judiciary, an efficient economy,...
CHF11.00
sofort lieferbar, weil Download
In den Warenkorb