Merkliste
Die Merkliste ist leer.

The Immortalists

Verkaufsrang1017inFiction
BuchPaperback
352 Seiten
Englisch
Andere Ausgaben und Formate:
BuchGebunden
CHF30.90
BuchPaperback
CHF24.90
BuchGebunden
CHF31.90
BuchPaperback
CHF20.90
BuchPaperback
CHF17.90
BuchGebunden
CHF39.90
TaschenbuchPaperback
CHF15.90
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
CHF16.10
eBookEPUBDRM AdobeElectronic Book
CHF9.00
"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt." --People Magazine (Book of the Week)
"A sprawling, enchanting family saga." --Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)
A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."
If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?
It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side,
...mehr
CHF20.90
Versand innert 1-2 Werktagen

Produktinformationen

Klappentext"This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt." --People Magazine (Book of the Week)
"A sprawling, enchanting family saga." --Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)
A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a "great new talent."
If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?
It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children-four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness-sneak out to hear their fortunes.
The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.
A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
Zusatztext#1 Indie Next Pick
#1 LibraryReads Pick
One of...
Entertainment Weekly’s “Must-read Books for 2018”
Elle’s “19 of the Best Books to Read This Winter”
Harper's Bazaar’s “10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018”
Southern Living's “Books Coming Out This Winter That We Can’t Wait to Read”
Martha Stewart Living, “On Our Bookshelf”
InStyle's “10 Books We Can’t Wait to Read in 2018”
The Huffington Post's “60 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018”
W Magazine's "10 Unconventional New Books About Love For Valentine's Day"
Popsugar’s “25 Must-Read Books for Fall”
Bustle's “35 Most-Anticipated Fiction Books of 2018”
Nylon's “50 Books We Can’t Wait To Read In 2018”
Goop's “12 Books for Winter Break”
BookPage's “Most Anticipated Fiction of 201”
Book Riot's “101 Books Coming Out in 2018 That You Should Mark Down Now”
HelloGiggles' “Most Anticipated Books of 2018”
PureWow's “20 Books We Can't Wait to Read in 2018”
Goodreads' “Most Anticipated Books of 2018”
Book Riot's “Most Anticipated Books of January 2018”
TimeOut's “Eleven New Books to Read This Month”
“A literary page-turner...A really compelling plotline.”—Wall Street Journal
“The only real magic here is Benjamin’s storytelling....Poignant...A testimony of love.”—Washington Post
“[An] amazing work of fiction...A dense, yet beautifully spun and satisfying tale that spans 50 years...Spare, yet gorgeously robust prose...and every page is imbued with [Benjamin’s] obvious storytelling skill....Begin 2018 with the book that could easily retain the year’s top spot, The Immortalists is a can’t-put-down, makes-you-think tale of a not-so-average American family.”—Associated Press
“The book spans decades, touching on the AIDs crisis, 9/11, race, and marriage. But, at its core, it’s an examination of free will and fate.” –The New Yorker
“The reader will likely be thoroughly taken by the world of the Gold siblings, in all its shades of brilliant color. It's not a totally comfortable realm, since we know all too well how this tale's going to end, but getting there is lovely.”—NPR.org
“Search no further for your inaugural 2018 book club pick.”—Elle
 
“Thrilling.”—Marie Claire
"A compelling family drama."—Esquire
“Centered on four siblings and spanning decades, The Immortalists asks a seemingly simple yet unimaginably complex question: If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life? The search for the answer makes for a sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (Must-List)
“Chloe Benjamin's family saga deftly explores destiny versus choice.”—US Weekly
“A family saga about love, destiny, living life and making choices that will cause readers to consider what to do with the time given them on this earth.”—The Huffington Post
“Benjamin’s tale is propulsive and colorful, capturing moving truths about the way we handle the knowledge that we all eventually die. . . . The premise . . . is brilliant and simple.”—Chicago Tribune
“Chloe Benjamin is a novelist to watch....The Immortalists weaves together philosophy and fortune-telling, to great effect....As deft and dizzying as a high-wire act...the reader is beguiled with unexpected twists and stylish, crisp prose....Unwittingly, this ambitious, unorthodox tale may change you too.”—The Economist
“Compelling.”—InStyle 
“As you follow [the siblings] toward their fates in this magical family saga, you’ll appreciate the unexpected in your own life.”—Redbook
“A moving novel about the deep bonds of family.”—Southern Living
“Beautifully written and intricately detailed, it's impossible to put down and sure to be one of those books you've got to re-read again and again.”—Popsugar 
“Intriguing premise...Beautifully written story.”—AARP
“Suspenseful, compassionate, inquisitive, and wholly captivating.”—Bustle
"Continually ratcheting up the tension...A Jewish-American family saga.”—Newsday
“Magical...There are moments as taut as a thriller, where time disappears as you turn pages; and passages of quiet compassion.”—The Seattle Times
“[Benjamin] casts a spell with...her affecting family saga."—Minneapolis Star Tribune
“A sweeping epic that will enchant you from cover to cover.”—Paste Magazine
“A page turner, as addictive as it is emotionally searing...Captivating, moving and addictive. It makes you think, feel, fall in love, and question how to best live your days left on earth.”—Lambda Literary 
"An intriguing setup for an immersive family saga."—Toronto Star 
“Chloe Benjamin’s The Immortalists is the very best kind of literary thriller, its suspense deriving from characters we care about deeply and surprises that feel embedded in our shared humanity. As profound a meditation on destiny as readers are likely to encounter.”—Richard Russo
“For someone who loves stories about brothers and sisters, as I do, The Immortalists is about as good as it gets. A memorable and heartfelt look at what might happen to a family who knows too much. It's amazing how good this book is.?”—Karen Joy Fowler
“A beautiful, compassionate, and even joyful novel. Chloe Benjamin has written an inspiring book that makes you think hard about what you want to do with the time you’re given. This is not really a book about dying—it's a book about how to live.”—Nathan Hill, author of The Nix
ZusammenfassungINSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
“A captivating family saga.”—The New York Times Book Review
“You won’t be able to put it down.”—The Skimm (Skimm Reads Pick)
“This literary family saga is perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Donna Tartt.”—People Magazine (Book of the Week)
“A sprawling, enchanting family saga.”—Entertainment Weekly (The Must List)
A dazzling family love story reminiscent of Everything I Never Told You from a novelist heralded by Lorrie Moore as a “great new talent.”
If you knew the date of your death, how would you live your life?
It's 1969 in New York City's Lower East Side, and word has spread of the arrival of a mystical woman, a traveling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the day they will die. The Gold children—four adolescents on the cusp of self-awareness—sneak out to hear their fortunes.
The prophecies inform their next five decades. Golden-boy Simon escapes to the West Coast, searching for love in '80s San Francisco; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician, obsessed with blurring reality and fantasy; eldest son Daniel seeks security as an army doctor post-9/11; and bookish Varya throws herself into longevity research, where she tests the boundary between science and immortality.
A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists probes the line between destiny and choice, reality and illusion, this world and the next. It is a deeply moving testament to the power of story, the nature of belief, and the unrelenting pull of familial bonds.
Details
ISBN/GTIN978-0-7352-1840-6
ProduktartBuch
EinbandartPaperback
Erscheinungsjahr2018
Seiten352 Seiten
SpracheEnglisch
Artikel-Nr.26416774
Rubriken
KategorieFiction

Kritiken und Kommentare

Leseprobe1.
When Saul dies, Simon is in physics class, drawing concentric circles meant to represent the rings of an electron shell but which to Simon mean nothing at all. With his daydreaming and his dyslexia, he has never been a good student, and the purpose of the electron shell—the orbit of electrons around an atom’s nucleus—escapes him. In this moment, his father bends over in the crosswalk on Broome Street while walking back from lunch.
...mehr

Über den Autor

Chloe Benjamin is the author of the New York Times bestseller The Immortalists. Her first novel, The Anatomy of Dreams, received the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was long listed for the 2014 Center for Fiction First Novel Prize. She is a graduate of Vassar College and the M.F.A. in fiction at the University of Wisconsin. She lives with her husband in Madison, WI.
Weitere Bücher von
Benjamin, Chloe
The Immortalists
The Immortalists
The Immortalists
The Anatomy of Dreams
The Immortalists
The Immortalists

Zuletzt von mir angeschaut